Blue Moon

blue moon

The obvious thing to do if you have a truck that moves around Pepsi, or Coke, or Budweiser, is to just put a big logo on it. You own the truck, might as well tell everyone what’s in it. The surface of the truck turns into a giant, moving billboard. It drives fame and recognition for your product.

I spotted this Blue Moon truck this morning, and there were a couple of things that stood out for me.

  • The illustration style. It looks hand painted, which harks back to that golden era of advertising.

  • It shows the product (beer).

  • There’s an orange slice, which tells the story about the product again: A wheat beer brewed with Valencia orange peel for a subtle sweetness and bright, citrus aroma.”

  • The movement you get from the three images in sequence. Is it a storyboard? A triptych? I’m not sure, but it’s a bit unusual and catches your eye.

  • Extra word association magic: I’m not sure about you, but when I look at that round bright orange against that dark background, I think moon”.


Date
September 20, 2019