207407008

I was on the train today and I saw an ad by bonds (no picture). It featured a really messy floor/a bunch of clothes, that created a negative space in the middle that looked like a t shirt. I think it was saying that their white tees are timeless, and will never go out of fashion.

Anyway, I remember recently when collage was really trendy (mid 00’s), and magazines were saying that collage will kill illustration’. And it did for a while. Now everyone’s sick of these huge mash up/colorful posters. I think tactile imagery, specifically still life will become really popular (paired with type).

You know it’s broken from the design world to the mainstream when bonds are pimping it.

no concept + computer = bad design

good concept + computer = good design

good concept + relevant still life + computer = trendy good design

im just sayin


Tags
Trends

Date
October 8, 2009