Stop and Smell the Roses

I’ve never noticed it before, but there’s a line of bushes near the entrance to my gym. They’re bursting with butter colored roses.

They look beautiful. The other morning I noticed a man in his 60’s bending over to have a sniff. He either didn’t see me, or didn’t care.

I wondered, how many people who walk past these rose bushes, smell the roses?

There’s pretty much only one way to walk through the front doors, so nearly everyone will walk by them.

Would be an interesting social experiment.

  • How many people smell the roses? 1 in 10? 1 in 100?
  • What do we know about the people who smell the roses?
  • Are they more likely to be older than average. Does gender make a difference?
  • When you smell the roses are you more likely to smell them more than once?
  • If you repeat, do you smell the roses in the same spot?
  • Does time of day make a difference?
  • Are you more likely to smell the roses before or after you go to the gym?
  • And are people going to the gym more likely to smell the roses than if this was an office building?

And yes, if you’re wondering, I did have a sniff!


Date
July 11, 2019