powazek.com

we should all stop saying, if you’re not paying for the product, you are the product,” because it doesn’t really mean anything, it excuses the behavior of bad companies, and it makes you sound kind of like a stoner looking at their hand for the first time.

Derek Powazek - I’m Not The Product, But I Play One On The Internet

A few people at work said they were going to un-install Instagram and never use it again. I had to ask why they’d do such a radical thing like that, and I didn’t get a clear cut answer; just stuff like it’s bullshit, they can’t sell my property’ etc.

This whole who owns my stuff?’ question was raised when a hoax facebook post went viral a few months ago. It really seems like the majority of people don’t really understand how these companies work, operate and make money…

It’d be lovely if they really were just a few people in California that  ant you to share photos of breakfast with your friends, but it’s a little more complicated then that. 

undefined


Tags
technology

Date
December 19, 2012