Packing Light

Over the last few years, I’ve travelled less and less, especially internationally. 

It didn’t used to be like that. I’d visited over 20 countries and hundreds of cities before I was in my twenties.

This fact doesn’t really surprise me. I now live permanently in a foreign country, shouldn’t that be enough? Well, yes and no.

I’m 26. I have close to unlimited freedom. Money, and time hardly tie me down. Relatively, I have a lot of both.

Sadly, I often associate that freedom of choice with emptiness. The crowded exotic beach, or piazza surrounded by hotels.

Conversely, when I think about the expanse of North America, I feel nostalgic, and energized. I remember the sights, sounds and people that I interacted with on my gap year, with a backpack and no real expectations other than visit somewhere new.

For most of us, travel is escape. But i’ve already escaped. For me, travel might be a tool for understanding. A way for me to answer why I’m here and who I am. Rather than anything specific about the country, or a particular city.

So how does this play out? The plan is to to take short mini-vacations, four day weekends, often, pack light, and…


Tags
travel

Date
June 22, 2016