My Movie

Every day last week, I filmed a movie.

Why?

No reason. I made a vague promise to myself at the start of 2019 to take more photos. Get better at photography. That sort of stuff. Never did anything. One day I picked up my old Sony NEX and recorded a few shots and got a kick out of it. Once I finally found the USB cord, I uploaded to iMove, and I was off.

How does it work?

My rules are simple:

  • Must include more than 2 shots
  • Must be longer than 5 seconds.
  • No portrait mode!
  • Don’t spend longer than 10 minutes editing in iMovie.
  • After 10 minutes, share it to youtube
  • Never look at it again.

The videos are titled with the date. eg. April 23. The moving images are shot, captured and encoded within the same day. Like a fish, better not leave it sitting in the ice bucket for too long. Get it on a plate. The videos are shared to my account, but are unlisted.

So, Success?

These clips ain’t winning any awards. But I had fun. And I filmed something every day! The simple fact that I spent time invested in editing them, naturally raises their value for me.

Learn anything?

  • Something is better than nothing.
  • iPhone camera is pretty damn powerful. I switched from a Sony NEX-5N after a few days, mainly for convenience, but I didn’t really notice a huge drop in picture quality.
  • I have no idea how to edit. I’m sure there’s a lot of small and technical things I could learn to improve my craft.
  • iMovie is really good. Consumer software at its best. Perfect for beginners and I never felt like it was talking down to me.
  • You need to shoot way more. Things that you think look interesting look dull on the screen and vice versa.
  • After some reflection, I need to do more things worth filming!

Date
May 2, 2019

Up next
original-1