Move fast and learn things

I moved from an advertising agency to a startup for a few reasons. Among other things, I wanted to help make a beautiful, functional product. Something that people might love to use everyday.

I didn’t want to work in a silo. I wanted to make big decisions with my team, experiment with different features, build it with developers, and test it in the wild, planing and polishing until it was perfect.

Quickly iterate and learn from usage data. Move fast and learn things. If I could do that, I’d be happy.

But, just because I scribbled something on a sticky note, didn’t mean my work was over.

As you might know if you’re a few years out of college, the workplace is chaotic, senseless and random. Unseen forces lash and whip your office into what you see every Monday morning.

It would be foolish to think you could control it. What you want, and what others want can’t always be fulfilled. Even if you share the same goals.

But that doesn’t mean you become a doormat and crumple at the thought of hard work or a bad turn of events.

image

If you find yourself off course, be this guy. The captain.

Don’t get angry, don’t get defensive and don’t panic. Recognize your position, and remember what you were meant to be doing in the first place. Remember your purpose. Move fast and learn things.



Date
March 16, 2015